Official Road Closure Plan for the City of Philadelphia Papal Visit

full-pope-francis-security-map

The official map is here, roads will be closed to vehicles from the Delaware River to the Schuylkill River. The Ben Franklin Bridge will be closed, and parts of West Philadelphia will also be closed to vehicles. Also, many major highways will begin closing on Thursday Night, September 24.

During the weekend, PennDOT is also shutting down portions of several major highways, including eastbound lanes of I-76 from I-476 to I-95, westbound lanes of I-76 from I-95 to U.S. Route 1 (Roosevelt Boulevard extension), both directions of I-676, and U.S. Route 1 (City Avenue) from U.S. Route 30 (Lancaster Avenue) to Belmont Avenue.

I-95 will remain open, although drivers will not be permitted to exit on most of the downtown City of Philadelphia exit ramps.